February 25, 2024

New Fury Media

Music. Gaming. Nostalgia. Culture.

Review: Frank Turner – “Tape Deck Heart”




Frank Turner

“Tape Deck Heart”

Folk Rock/Pop Punk

Xtra Mile Recordings

Release Date: 2013

Rating: 9/10

I think Frank Turner has outdone himself on this release!!!! I have been following Frank for quite some time now and have had the pleasure seeing him live (opening up for Social Distortion and headlining tour with Larry And His Flask) and have enjoyed every single one of his albums. After saying that, Tape Deck Heart has become my favorite release by this talented Brit. I don’t even know where to start with this review other than this release is pure genius and it shows Frank Turner full circle. I hear a mix of every single one of his albums on this album (5 full lengths and around the same number of EP’s). By far, the tracks that I have revisited a few times now have to be Four Simple Words (officially my new favorite track), Tattoos, The Fisher King Blues and The Way I Tend To Be.

The last time I seen Frank live, they played Four Simple Words and I was instantly hooked on this song. It truly shows Frank Turner in his musical form. I’m going to stop talking about this record and let you ladies and gents go out (or go online) and order this record and screw the regular version of the album, the deluxe is where it’s at. You can order the album HERE.~TR

Rocks Like: Billy Bragg, Bean On Toast, Joey Briggs


Track Listing:

1)      Recovery
2)      Losing Days
3)      The Way I Tend To Be
4)      Plain Sailing Weather
5)      Good & Gone
6)      Tell Tale Signs
7)      Four Simple Words
8)      Polaroid Picture
9)      The Fisher King Blues
10)   Anymore
11)   Oh Brother
12)   Broken Piano
13)   We Shall Not Overcome*
14)   Wherefore Art Thou Gene Simmons*
15)   Tattoos*
16)   Undeveloped Film*
17)   Time Machine*
18)   Cowboy Chords*

*bonus tracks for deluxe edition

New Fury Media