March 4, 2024

New Fury Media

Music. Gaming. Nostalgia. Culture.

Dream-sludge trio Spotlights reveal new EP, “Hanging By Faith”

Spotlights, the Brooklyn-based trio who released their Ipecac debut, Seismic, late last year, return with Hanging By Faith, a five-song EP featuring remixes from Void Manes and ISIS/Palms’ Aaron Harris. Sadly, we were late to the party on this album, but fans of Nothing, Deftones, newer Hundredth, and sludge/shoegaze/post-metal are going to find much to sink their teeth into here.

The “The Hanging (Hang Us All) Kris Dirksen Remix” video, directed NY-based photographer A.F. Cortes, can be seen here. Pre-orders for the EP, which is available digitally and on limited edition white vinyl (500 copies), are available at the same link and include an instant download of “The Hanging (Hang Us All) Kris Dirksen Remix.” The fifth song on the album, “Faith,” is a cover of The Cure classic.

“We liked the idea of changing the song titles because, while these remixes really harness the core intention of the original songs, they all took on a completely new life, and totally stand on their own, as new compositions,” explained Mario Quintero. “The new titles were chosen by the people doing the remixes too, which we feel gives the songs even more of a personal touch.”

Hanging By Faith EP tracklist:

The Hanging (Hang Us All) Kris Dirksen Remix
Till Darkness Comes (Ghost of a Glowing Forest) Mario Quintero Remix
Sudden Violent Movement (Seismic) Aaron Harris Remix
Ice Giant (The Size of The Planet) Void Manes remix

Spotlights venture overseas for a 15-date European tour later this month, with the trek including the outfit’s debut Roadburn performance. The band plays a hometown, record release show at Brooklyn’s St. Vitus on June 30. Toby Driver (Kayo Dot) and Somnuri open.

Spotlights is a Brooklyn-based trio featuring married couple Mario and Sarah Quintero alongside drummer Chris Enriquez. The band released Seismic in the fall of 2017 via Ipecac Recordings. Revolver said the outfit “balances delicate atmospherics” and “crushing sounds” on the Aaron Harris (ISIS/Palms) produced release, while Loudwire noted Spotlights’ knack for “letting songs breathe, taking their time in building up a track’s strength and beauty simultaneously.”. Treble Zine named the album one of the Top 20 metal releases of 2017, saying “Seismic is an atmospheric sludge odyssey that lives up to the earth-moving implications of its title.”

New Fury Media