Review: Alkaline Trio – “My Shame Is True”




Alkaline Trio

“My Shame Is True”

Melodic Pop Punk

Epitaph Records/Heart & Skull Records

Release Date: 2013

Rating: 7/10

What to say about Alkaline Trio that hasn’t been said already!! Once again, Alkaline Trio is back with another album and once again, it is NOT disappointing. These guys have been one of my favorite pop punks and have never been disappointed in any of their albums. I will say that “My Shame Is True” is not their strongest album they have released, but if you are a fan of the band, you will be pleasantly happy with this release nonetheless. This album reminds me of everything from “Good Mourning” all the way to “Damnesia” with a little bit more rock added similar to what Rise Against has been giving us lately. I hope that doesn’t scare you away because I thoroughly loved this release. I’d have to say, the lowest points on this album were the chorus’. They never gave me the power a chorus is normally supposed to bring to a song and that can really be seem in the track “The Torture Doctor”.

The high points of this record were tracks “I, Pessimist feat. Tim from Rise Against” and She Lied To The FBI”. They are both well-polished Alkaline Trio tracks and really show how well put this band is. I’d say, if you are a fan of this band, you need this in your AT collection and skip buying the regular edition, get yourself the deluxe edition that features the EP “Broken Wing”. Can’t wait to hear what else this band is going to give us.

Rocks Like: Bayside, The Gaslight Anthem, The Loved Ones

Buy album HERE

Track Listing

1)      She Lied To The FBI
2)      I Wanna Be A Warhol
3)      I’m Only Here To Disappoint
4)      Kiss You To Death
5)      The Temptation Of St. Anthony
6)      I, Pessimist feat. Tim McIirath of Rise Against
7)      Only Love
8)      The Torture Doctor
9)      Midnight Blue
10)   One Last Dance
11)   Young Lovers
12)   Until Death Do Us Part
13)   Balanced On A Shelf*
14)   Pocket Knife*
15)   Broken Wing*
16)   Sun Burns*

*bonus tracks from the EP “Broken Wing” that was released the same day