Linkin Park announces ‘Hybrid Theory’ 20th anniversary reissue, stream unreleased 1999 demo, “She Couldn’t”

After teasing it earlier in the week, it’s official. Linkin Park will be releasing a 20th anniversary reissue of their Diamond-certified debut album, Hybrid Theory. Complete with never before seen live DVDs and unreleased music from the band’s early days, the upcoming deluxe reissue will include a plethora of goodies for fans of the band, too.

The set comes in multiple physical and digital formats, including a super deluxe box set, super deluxe vinyl box set and deluxe CD that all come with the original “Hybrid Theory” as well as the “B-Side Rarities” with 12 previously released tracks from the album era.

“It’s incredible to think it’s been 20 years since ‘Hybrid Theory’ was released,” says the band. “All gratitude to our fans who made this epic journey we started 20 years ago possible. We dedicate our music to you. We rededicate our ‘Hybrid Theory’ to you.”

To celebrate the occasion, the band has officially released a new song, “She Couldn’t, which dates back to 1999. About the song, Mike Shinoda had this to say:

“”She Couldn’t” is one of the earliest demos we made when Chester joined the band. Two things stand out about the song, to me: 1.) The programmed beat and focus on synth sounds and vocal loops (rather than heavy guitars) foreshadowed a future of the band many years after Hybrid Theory. In searching for our “first sound,” we set the groundwork for our later evolution. 2.) The softly-sung “you’re not alone” refrain reminded me that, although we debuted with a song screaming “shut up,” what most fans came to find out was that empathy and community were just as integral a part of LP’s DNA from the very beginning. Sincerely, thank you for the excitement about the #hybridtheory20 package. We’re so grateful to have had you with us all these years.”

Included in the Super Deluxe Box set:

5 CDs

01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. B-Side Rarities
04. LPU Rarities
05. Forgotten Demos

3 DVDs

01. Frat Party At The Pankake Festival
02. Live Projekt Revolution 2002 (never-before-released)
03. Live At The Fillmore 2001 // Live At Rock Am Ring 2001

3 LPs

01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. Hybrid Theory EP


* 80-page book featuring contributions from the band and previously unseen photos
* Cassette reproduction of original 2-track street team sampler
* 18×24 Poster of Chester Bennington
* 3 Lithographs featuring new art by Mike Shinoda, Joe Hahn, and Frank Maddocks
* Replica tour laminate

Super deluxe vinyl set:

3 LPs

01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. B-Side Rarities

Side A

01. One Step Closer (Rock Mix)
02. It’s Goin’ Down
03. Papercut (Live from the BBC)
04. In The End (Live BBC Radio One)
05. Points Of Authority (Live BBC Radio One)
06. High Voltage

Side B

07. Step Up (1999 Demo)
08. My December
09. A Place For My Head (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
10. Points Of Authority (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
11. Papercut (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
12. Buy Myself Remix (Marilyn Manson)

Deluxe CD:


01. Hybrid Theory
02. B-Side Rarities

“Hybrid Theory” — the band’s original name before it was changed to LINKIN PARK for legal reasons — was issued in October 2000 and was a breakout success for the group, which had formed in 1996 and had played the Los Angeles club scene for several years. The album yielded four massive hit singles — “One Step Closer”, “Crawling”, “Papercut” and “In The End” — while going on to sell more than 10 million copies in the U.S. alone.