Dance Gavin Dance Unveil Updated Version Of “Alex English” And Plan New Album


Having been around for more than a decade, it’s difficult to find someone who hasn’t heard of Dance Gavin Dance. With a catalog boasting six full length albums, an EP, and a festival recording, this comes as no surprise; however, these post-hardcore juggernauts haven’t had the easiest ride. Three vocalists have contributed singing over eleven years. Their original vocalist, Jonny Craig, and his replacement, Kurt Travis, both appeared on two albums respectively, though not in a consistent order. Jonny departed in 2007, only to return in 2010 as his replacement’s replacement alongside co-founder, dual frontman, Jon Mess, who had left in 2008. Following Jonny’s second departure, the position has since been filled by ex-Tides Of Man singer, Tilian Pearson, and this one seems permanent.

Since joining back in 2012, Tilian has been at the helm for two full length releases, Acceptance Speech in 2013, and Instant Gratification last year. Their newest release, Tree City Sessions, is slated to drop May 13th through Rise Records. Recorded in their hometown, Sacramento, California, the record marks their first live studio album release. The track listing is a gathering of fan favorites; consisting of tracks that span their entire discography. Tilian showcases his personal flare on the first single, “Alex English,” a song from the Kurt Travis period, and the band’s self-titled album.

Fans have more than just one album to be excited for. Despite Tree City Sessions not hitting shelves for another month, Dance Gavin Dance is already preparing for a new record. When rumors floated around concerning their attendance with this year’s Warped Tour, Tilian responded via a Reddit post, “We aren’t doing warped, but we will be in the studio April/May/June recording our new album scheduled to come out Fall 2016.”

Tree City Sessions

1. Alex English
2. The Robot With Human Hair, Pt. 4
3. Tree Village
4. Lemon Meringue Tie
5. We Own The Night
6. Thug City
7. Carl Barker
8. Death Of A Strawberry
9. The Jiggler
10. Me And Zoloft Get Along Just Fine
11. Spooks
12. And I Told Them I Invented Times New Roman

Pre-order the album on iTunes or through MerchNow.